How critical is media in your life?

If media represented one vital part of your life, what would you choose? I know that if I had to compare media use to something crucial, it would be to food.

Media = Sustainability

The number of times in one day that I use media is outrageous—I literally depend on it, like I do food, for survival in my every day life. Would some people judge me for this? Probably, yes. But, hey! At least I’m not in denial…this is my perspective.

meals EQUALS girl on computer

Breakfast

Like the food I eat, the media I consume daily gets me through my day. When I wake up, I have emails for breakfast, and I listen to music every day driving to school on the radio. My hearty media experience continues when I see all of the signs in Towson, all of the restaurant advertisements, shops, and businesses I pass by. All of the media I consume in the morning usually has time to digest while I’m in class!

Lunch

I suppose lunch involves using the Internet on my phone in between and after class. I check school emails, make random Google searches when something sparks my interest, etc. Things come up, and I admit that I ingest as much as I can!

While my cell phone use is processed when I leave from school and drive to work, I always listen to the radio. I need to listen to music and hear others talk to stop myself from thinking for a little while. The vibration of my car numbs the chaos, even if it’s subtle. It’s quite refreshing, like a cold beverage would be. Of course, there are other reasons people enjoy the radio. Do you have any in particular?

Dinner

After I arrive home from work, all I want to do lay in bed with my computer…and my cell phone too. Once again, I check my emails, maybe the news if I’m feeling interested that day, and then I check Facebook. Facebook stays on my computer until I go to bed—I do not check it compulsively, but it’s always open on a tab. Meanwhile, I’m usually playing random Spotify playlist I just discovered. I live in a media bubble, and I’m not sorry.

Media Bubble!

Shocking analysis

When I actually started paying attention to how frequently I picked up my phone to check my emails and text messages, I was shocked. I realized that I check my emails at least eight times in one day (just on my phone) and don’t even get me started on my text messages. I probably breathe as often as I check those. My Internet use is quite similar. What I found most surprising was how often I visit each site. How many times I check Blackboard, Facebook, Gmail, Towson Gmail, Google, etc for my daily activities would be absurd to someone who grew up entirely without the Internet or a cell phone. Actually, I might have an idea for comparison…

Despite my heavy use, I’m not the only one out there. In fact, I did some research on cell phone use and found some interesting statistics. I call it “Cell Phone Domination” because these facts illustrate how cell phones are literally taking over the world.

Learning about the world

My belief that I use media as fuel to sustain my daily life has helped me to understand how I get my information. If I have a general knowledge question, I search it on Google. If I need to second-check due dates, I use Blackboard, or I will text or call someone who might know. If I want to learn more about the local or national news, I have can tune into my local radio, turn on my TV at home, or search for it on the web. I’ve realized that although media helps us to become more independent of other people, we become more reliant on technology. What do you think?

couplemacbook